I am on your team

Corrie Ten Boom. Have you heard of her?

In her book she describes how her sister told her that they needed to give thanks for everything, including the lice that was infesting the barracks of the concentration camp where they were imprisoned.

Corrie didn’t understand at first. Why would I give thanks for lice???

Well, Corrie and Betsy were holding bible studies in their barracks. If it had not been for the lice, the guards would have uncovered this and punished them. The lice kept the guards away.

I remember this story, often, and when I was diagnosed with cancer I started thanking God for the cancer.

1 Thessalonians 5:18: give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.

Why?

It has made me a kinder and softer person. I know, that’s my choice but I choose it because I now understand some hardships. I can relate to suffering and emotional distress and sadness. But, I’ve never been one to let life hold me down. So, I chose to let it make me better. I am thankful.

It has opened the doors for me to join this journey with others. I have people I don’t know contacting me about my choices… asking questions… sharing their fears. If I can help just one person navigate this crazy path, I am thankful.

It has made me physically stronger. I’ve lost 30 pounds since February and will continue along that path. I am thankful.

It has helped my relationship with God. I talk to him far more than before. There is much more peace in my life than ever and I have come to the realization that even if I die tomorrow, that’s okay. I mean, I always knew it was okay (heaven is amazing) but it’s the pain of my loved ones left behind that I’ve dreaded. I actually have peace and feel I will still live a long life on this earth. But, if I don’t… that’s totally okay. Life here is not the end goal, anyway! I am thankful.

And, I am on your team. You are not alone. I know you are scared and fearful. The doctors have told you there’s only one path. Maybe they even told you you only have weeks or months to live. Your family and friends might think you’re crazy for considering non-conventional options. You googled alternative clinics and found negative reviews. You don’t understand the treatments some of these places are offering and are overwhelmed. You feel sick, tired, misunderstood… I know. But, I am on your team. Please reach out to me. I will take all the time you need to help you navigate through these murky waters: spiritually, emotionally, informationally.

I will listen, talk, cry… whatever you need. I am here. I am on your team. I am thankful for you.

Leave a comment